Home > Research > Statistical Physics and Applications

Statistical Physics and Applications

The activity in statistical physics at LPT-ENS has been historically related to the study of disordered systems, whose physical properties are largely influenced by the presence of heterogeneous, quenched interactions. In addition to our core activity around disordered systems, the Statistical Physics and Application team is also working on a large variety of issues, ranging from abstract aspects of mathematical physics to applications to condensed matter, biology and computer science.

Conformal field theories (CFT), integrability and random geometry are some of the mathematical structures studied at LPT-ENS that arise in many modern applications of statistical physics, with applications to 2d phase transitions, to critical quantum systems, to random planar curves and interfaces... Our works encompass in particular the development of logarithmic CFTs, the physical understanding of planar random curves generated by stochastic Schramm- Loewner evolution. Stochastic integrability has been recently studied in the context of growth models in the KPZ class in close contact with similar developments in mathematics.

Disordered systems are still a very important part of theoretical statistical physics at LPT-ENS. Concepts such as ergodicity breaking and many equilibrium states, crucial to the understanding of e.g. pinning, shocks and avalanches in non-equilibrium dynamics, the glass transition, jamming and constrained or activated slow dynamics, are still actively developed in the lab, and have also found deep applications to other domains, in particular, in computer science (optimization problems and quantum computing) and random graph theory.

Understanding the principles governing the out-of-equilibrium dynamics of quantum many-body systems, via approaches ranging from exact results in CFT’s to numerical solutions, is another important aspect of our current activity. We study in particular the fundamental properties of quantum noise and quantum trajectories, such as in open systems that are being continuously monitored. We also investigate scenarios in which non-equilibrium physics, in particular the interplay of drive and dissipation, can be used as a resource to realize exotic many-body states such as high-temperature superconductivity in condensed matter or long-lived multipartite entanglement in cavity quantum electrodynamics.

Biological systems pose new challenges for statistical mechanics compared to non-animate materials, as they involve interactions on many scales and are intrinsically out of equilibrium. Our aim is to describe the emergent properties that lead to the remarkable precision in the functioning of living systems, a challenge made possible by the emergence of increasingly precise and reproducible experiments. Applications of our researches range from neural and immune systems to proteins, from development to evolution and animal behaviour.

For more information about the ongoing research:

ARON Camille

ARON Camille

(Out-of-equilibrium many-body phenomena in statistical physics, Condensed-matter physics, and quantum optics)

Read more

BERNARD Denis

BERNARD Denis

(Statistical physics and mathematical physics)

Read more

JACOBSEN Jesper

JACOBSEN Jesper

(Conformal field theory, Exactly solvable models)

Read more

Le DOUSSAL Pierre

Le DOUSSAL Pierre

(Condensed Matter and Statistical Physics)

Read more

MONASSON Remi

MONASSON Remi

(Statistical physics, learning and inference & applications to biological systems)

Read more

SEMERJIAN Guilhem

SEMERJIAN Guilhem

(Statistical mechanics, Disordered systems, Optimisation problems)

Read more

WALCZAK Aleksandra

WALCZAK Aleksandra

(Statistical biophysics)

Read more

WIESE Kay

WIESE Kay

(Disordered systems and functional renormalization)

Read more

ZAMPONI Francesco

ZAMPONI Francesco

(Theory of glasses, granulars, and other amorphous solids, Agent-based models for macroeconomy, Quantum disordered systems, Quantum algorithms, Non-equilibrum statistical mechanics)

Read more

Accueil > Recherche > Physique statistique et applications

Physique statistique et applications

L’activité en physique statistique au LPT-ENS a été historiquement liée à l’étude des systèmes désordonnés dont les propriétés physiques sont fortement influencés par la présence d’interactions hétérogènes. Outre cette activité, l’équipe « Physique Statistique et Applications » du LPT-ENS travaille sur une large variété de questions, allant d’aspects abstraits de physique mathématique à des applications à la matière condensée, à la biologie ou à l’informatique.

Les théories des champs conformes, les systèmes intégrables ou la géométrie aléatoire figurent parmi les structures mathématiques étudiées au LPT-ENS. Ces dernières possèdent de nombreuses applications à la physique statistique moderne, dans l’etude des transitions de phase, des systèmes quantiques critiques, des processus ou phénomènes physiques aléatoires. Elles sont bien-sûr étroitement liées aux théories des cordes. Nos travaux englobent par exemple le développement de modèles géométriques de théories des champs conformes et de leurs applications, la compréhension physique et mathématique de courbes ou d’interfaces aléatoires, l’étude de l’intégralité stochastique dans le cadre des modèles de croissance : un ensemble de thèmes étudiés en contact étroit avec des développements similaires en mathématiques.

Les systèmes désordonnés font encore partie des thèmes de physique statistique théorique abordés au LPT-ENS. Les concepts et les outils méthodologiques liés à la notion de brisure d’ergodicité ou à l’influence de nombreux états d’équilibre en présence de désordre y sont activement développés. Ils sont indispensables à la compréhension de la transition vitreuse, à celle de la dynamique des systèmes hors d’équilibre en présence de chocs ou d’avalanches, etc. Ils ont également trouvé des applications profondes dans d’autres domaines, hors du champ de la physique statistique, en particulier en informatique (problèmes d’optimisation et informatique quantique) ou dans la théorie des graphes aléatoires.

Comprendre les principes qui régissent la dynamique des systèmes quantiques hors d’équilibre, par des approches allant de l’obtention de résultats exacts à des solutions numériques, est un autre aspect important de notre activité. Nous étudions ainsi les propriétés fondamentales des bruits et des trajectoires quantiques de systèmes sous observation et contrôle permanents. Nous étudions également les scénarios, fondés par exemple sur la compétition entre contrôle et dissipation, dans lesquels des phénomènes physiques hors d’équilibres peuvent être utilisés comme ressources afin de réaliser des états exotiques de la matière, tels que la supraconductivité à haute température ou impliquant l’intrication quantique sur de longues durées.

En comparaison des matériaux passifs, les systèmes biologiques posent de nouveaux défis à la physique statistique car ils impliquent des interactions sur plusieurs échelles et sont intrinsèquement hors d’équilibre. Notre objectif est de décrire les propriétés émergentes qui sous-tendent le fonctionnement remarquablement précis des systèmes vivants. L’émergence d’expériences de plus en plus précises et reproductibles rend aujourd’hui ce défi réaliste. Les champs d’applications de nos recherches vont des systèmes nerveux et immunitaire aux protéines, du développement à l’évolution et au comportement animal.

Pour plus d’informations sur les recherches en cours :

ARON Camille

ARON Camille

(Out-of-equilibrium many-body phenomena in statistical physics, Condensed-matter physics, and quantum optics)

Lire la suite

BERNARD Denis

BERNARD Denis

(Statistical physics and mathematical physics)

Lire la suite

JACOBSEN Jesper

JACOBSEN Jesper

(Conformal field theory, Exactly solvable models)

Lire la suite

Le DOUSSAL Pierre

Le DOUSSAL Pierre

(Condensed Matter and Statistical Physics)

Lire la suite

MONASSON Remi

MONASSON Remi

(Statistical physics, learning and inference & applications to biological systems)

Lire la suite

SEMERJIAN Guilhem

SEMERJIAN Guilhem

(Statistical mechanics, Disordered systems, Optimisation problems)

Lire la suite

WALCZAK Aleksandra

WALCZAK Aleksandra

(Statistical biophysics)

Lire la suite

WIESE Kay

WIESE Kay

(Disordered systems and functional renormalization)

Lire la suite

ZAMPONI Francesco

ZAMPONI Francesco

(Theory of glasses, granulars, and other amorphous solids, Agent-based models for macroeconomy, Quantum disordered systems, Quantum algorithms, Non-equilibrum statistical mechanics)

Lire la suite