Home > Employment and internship

Postdoctoral positions in Theoretical Physics

The Department of Physics of Ecole Normale Superieure invites applications for two Junior Research Chairs in theoretical physics, at the postdoctoral level, funded by the Philippe Meyer Institute for Theoretical physics

The Philippe Meyer Institute for Theoretical physics aims at outstanding candidates in theoretical physics with some experience at the international level. Appointments will be for two years with a possible extension for a third year. Salary is competitive, according to international experience and qualification.

The successful candidates will carry out theoretical physics research at the Département de physique de l’ENS, which includes Laboratoire Kastler-Brossel, Laboratoire Pierre Agrain, Laboratoire de physique statistique, Laboratoire de physique théorique and Laboratoire de radioastronomie.

Projects in particle and astroparticle physics, field and string theory, statistical physics and its applications in condensed matter physics, biophysics and information theory, are especially welcome.

Applications must be submitted through AcademicJobsOnline and should consist of:
- A cover letter
- A complete CV including a list of publications
- A research statement taking into account possible interactions with research groups/faculy within the Département de physique de l’ENS (no more than 4 pages of A4).
- Three letters of recommendation for senior scientists, to be uploaded on AcademicJobsOnline .

Short-listed candidates may be invited for interview (videoconferences) late November / early December.

Applications received by October 31 will receive full consideration. Positions will normally start in october 2017, but this is negotiable.

For information, additional positions (experimental or theoretical) will be made available by the ENS-ICFP - International Center for Fundamental Physics and its interfaces.

Accueil > Offres d’emploi

Emplois postdoctoraux en Physique Théorique

Le Département de Physique de l’Ecole Normale Supérieure sollicite des candidatures pour deux emplois postdoctorants en physique théorique, financés par l’Institut de Physique Théorique Philippe Meyer.

L’Institut de Physique Théorique Philippe Meyer s’adresse à des candidats remarquables en physique théorique, ayant une certaine expérience au niveau international. Les positions couvrent deux ans, pouvant être prolongés d’une troisième année. Elles assurent un salaire compétitif en relation avec l’expérience et la qualification.

Les candidats sélectionnés poursuivront des recherches en physique théorique au Département de Physique de l’Ecole Normale Supérieure (qui comprend le Laboratoire Kastler-Brossel, le Laboratoire Pierre Aigrain, le Laboratoire de physique statistique, le Laboratoire de physique théorique et le Laboratoire de radioastronomie).

Les projets en physique des particules et astroparticules, théories des champs et des cordes, physique statistique et ses applications en physique de la matière condensée, biophysique et théorie de l’information, sont particulièrement bienvenus.

Les dossiers de candidature doivent être adressés à AcademicJobsOnline et doivent comprendre :
- Une lettre de candidature.
- Un CV détaillé comprenant une liste de publications.
- Un projet de recherche soulignant les interactions possibles avec les groupes de recherche/chercheurs du Département de physique de l’ENS (n’excédant pas 4 pages au format A4).
- Trois lettres de recommandation de chercheurs confirmés, à télécharger sur le site AcademicJobsOnline .

Les candidats choisis parmi une petite liste pourront être sollicités pour un entretien (videoconférence) fin Novembre / début Décembre.

Les dossiers de candidature reçus avant le 31 Octobre seront pleinement considérés. Les emplois commencent normalement en Octobre 2017, mais cette date peut être négociée.

Pour information, d’autres emplois sont également proposés par l’ENS-ICFP - International Center for Fundamental Physics
et ses interfaces.